January Review to Date

Cedar Waxwing - Oshkosh, WI 1-19-2016
Cedar Waxwing – Oshkosh, WI 1-19-2016

Wow, we’re already heading out of January and into February!! The past few weeks have flown by and since I’ve been focusing on reviewing my 2015 goals, setting 2016 goals, and the Costa Rica trip reports, I haven’t posted any local updates. I’ve been out birding quite a bit this year and next week I plan to post about my species number and days out birding this January compared to the past few years. It’ll be interesting to see how my new work schedule has affected my birding. But for now, here’s some of the birds I’ve seen so far in 2016.

Earlier in the year I joined Todd, Stuart, and Ross on their weekly Wednesday morning birding trip. Like me, Todd works second shift, but has Wednesdays off. For the past 4 years, he and Stuart have been birding Wednesdays and making me very jealous while I was stuck at work watching them post their findings. Well all of that has now changed and I’m able to join them!

We found a few Red-headed Woodpeckers knocking around. The photo below is heavily cropped in order to show the remaining brown head feathers indicating a immature.

Red-headed Woodpecker - Wolf River Bottoms in Outagamie County, WI 1-6-2016
Red-headed Woodpecker – Wolf River Bottoms in Outagamie County, WI 1-6-2016

The following Wednesday, in 0 degree Fahrenheit temps (that’s -18 degrees Celsius for most of the world) we headed for the Buena Vista grasslands. We each added some first of year species, but I had to head back earlier for work and missed on the Greater Prairie Chickens. Oh darn….guess I’ll just have to go back out there this spring!

Buena Vista Grasslands, WI 1-13-2016
Buena Vista Grasslands, WI 1-13-2016

Spent some time working on my Calumet County year list – need all the birds I can get if I’m going to keep up with Dar!

A good size flock of Snow Buntings in a tree. Calumet Count, WI 1-11-2016
A good size flock of Snow Buntings in a tree. Calumet Count, WI 1-11-2016

On January 9th, the Northeast Wisconsin Birding Club was treated to a fascinating presentation on the banding and track of Golden Eagles in Waupaca County. The following weekend, January 16th, was our club field trip where we searched for Golden Eagles in the same county. Although we missed on the Goldens, we did find this immature Bald Eagle feasting in a snow covered field.

On January 19th, Stuart and I headed down to Oshkosh. Found a nicely perched Northern Shrike and a flock of Cedar Waxwings getting fat on berries.

Northern Shrike - Oshkosh, WI 1-19-2016
Northern Shrike – Oshkosh, WI 1-19-2016

The following day Stuart and I did some gulling down in Jefferson County.

Iceland Gull - Jefferson County, WI 1-20-2016
Iceland Gull – Jefferson County, WI 1-20-2016

The day after I was working from home – yes, this is why I decided to work from home full-time – when a Cooper’s Hawk visited to hunt sparrows on my brush pile! The photos below were taken while I was on the phone working with a client – working from home and birding will definitely improve my multitasking skills!

Took two trips to find the worlds fastest animal in Oshkosk, but it was worth it!

Peregrine Falcon - Oshkosh, WI 1-22-2016
Peregrine Falcon – Oshkosh, WI 1-22-2016

So there you have it – a quick recap of some of the birds I’ve seen to date in 2016. Next week I should be back with another Costa Rica Trip Report and a summary of my January birding. Until then, Bird It Up!

 

6 thoughts on “January Review to Date”

    1. Thanks for the comments!! Yeah, Cedar Waxwings are one of the sharpest looking species – just beautiful. A fellow “work from home/birder” well, I’m happy to join your ranks. Nothing quite like watching the birds and getting paid 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

